“Damnificados” wins award

Damnificados has won The New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for Fiction. The full list is here: http://nmbookcoop.com/BookAwards/2016-Winners/2016-Winners.html and it includes my friend and colleague Sharman Apt Russell, a brilliant writer, who won the Science Fiction award for her novel Knocking on Heaven’s Door. Two other Silver City authors were also finalists – Ron Hamm and Catalina Claussen – so it was a good year for our literary community.

Sharman Apt Russell and myself: photo courtesy of Jay Hemphill, WNMU
Sharman Apt Russell and myself: photo courtesy of Jay Hemphill, WNMU

Damnificados has also been nominated for an American Book Award; the Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Award; the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize; the Balcones Fiction Prize; and the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award.

My thanks to the judges and to my publisher, PM Press.

Leave a comment